Audiobook Week Day 5: Audiobook Resources

10 06 2011

 

Back during Armchair BEA I wrote a post I think would apply to this topic, called So You Want to Be An Audiobook Blogger. So instead of doing that I thought I would just go all random, and talk about some of my pet peeves with Audiobook Blogging, and play the comment whore by asking some discussion questions and a bit of advice.

Some Pet Peeves:

I hate when you get into a series, listen to all the audiobooks, anxiously await the next in the series, and when it comes out, no audiobook.  I’m sure there are reasons for it, but it sucks for the listener. Two series that this has happened to me recently were The Hap and Leonard Series by Joe R. Lansdale, which the latest edition Devil Red was recently released with no plans on audio, and Thomas E. Sniegoski Remy Chandler series, with the latest edition, A Hundred Words for Hate also not getting the audiobook treatment. Both of these series were previously produced by Brilliance Audio.

Maybe it was the way I was raised  but I always hated asking for things. Yet, two Audiobook companies have really done an excellent job reaching out to me as a blogger, and offering review copies, and doing simple things to promote my reviews, like retweeting. Those two companies are Blackstone Audio and Hachette Audio. Yet, I find it frustrating when dealing with some other companies. I rarely make requests, but it surprises me that a few times, I received no reply whatsoever, not even a kindly worded rejection. I am also surprised by some companies that don’t do the simple things either. This is free advertising for you products, take a moment and say something nice about it. Encourage bloggers, it will make them more willing to review your work.

I think all Book/Audiobook production companies should have a customizable “Advance Search” function on there sites, or some other tool that makes it easy to find out about upcoming releases in the formats and genres the customer likes. Some sites make it very hard to find out what is coming soon.

If I was King if the World:

The following authors/series would be available in audiobook:

James Maxey’s Dragon Age Series

Graham Sharp Paul’s Helfort’s War Series

Robert Buettner’s Orphanage Series

Robert McCammon (Anything by Him)

What books/series would you like to see made into audiobooks?

Some Discussion Questions:

When I write reviews I don’t add summaries of the books, just my thoughts on it. How important to you is it to have a book summary included in a review? Or are you like me and often skim through the summaries and try to get right to the reviewer’s opinion?

I recently had a telephone discussion with someone from audible about how they can reach out to bloggers, with the emphasis of promoting their imprints like Audible Frontiers and other Audible productions. What would you like to see a company like Audible do to help bloggers?

Recently, someone tweeted that there should be a NetGalley type site for audiobooks. Personally, I am unfamiliar with how NetGalley works, but is this a resource that you would be interested in, and would it increase you audiobook reviewing if it was available?

Lastly, on a more personal note, a few years ago a friend told me I was a Literary Misogynist because I read almost exclusively male authors. Recently, I have made an attempt to read more female authors. I would be interested to know what female authors your husbands, sons, uncles, boyfriends, brothers read (if your female). If you are male, what percentage of male to female authors do you read?

That is all for now. Feel free to comment or not. Audiobook Week has been fantastic, and I plan on going through Devourer of Books Linkies and adding most of you to my blogroll.

Actions

Information

7 responses

10 06 2011
John

Nice blog post! The books I’m dying to have available on audiobook are the books of The Riftwar Saga by Raymond E. Feist. These books really got me hooked on reading back in high school and I would love them to get the audiobook treatment. Harper Audio has done a few of the newest books.. hopefully they will do all the previous ones too.

10 06 2011
le0pard13

Good post. I’d find that so frustrating if a series suddenly dropped the audio format on a release. Also, Brilliance Audio used to be really good in replying to emails from customers/bloggers. A recent missive to them on my part fell on deaf ears. Something’s definitely changed over at BA. Thanks.

10 06 2011
Kristin T.

When I started listening to audio books, I picked a series I was familiar with and had been wanting to reread. I was able to listen to the second and third book, but can’t find the fourth one on audio…I was so bummed!

My resources post can be found here.

10 06 2011
Lena

Great post. I don’t listen to audio books, but this was an interesting post. I read more female than male books, it really doesn’t mattter what the gender of the author is, the important aspect for me is whether it’s a good book. Normally, I’m a slave to loyalty, if I like one book, I’ll generally by the next and so on. The last male author, well, I’m still reading it actually, is “The Sixth Man” by David Baldacci.

10 06 2011
Jen - Devourer of Books

I would looooooove a Netgalley-type site for bloggers. It would make me very, very happy.

11 06 2011
DWD

RE: female authors.

I would guess that about 20-30% of my books and audiobooks are by female authors.

17 06 2011
krishna

I am a big fan of urban fantasy and many of the authors are female.In scifi Elizabeth moon and Tanya huff are my favorites.

Leave a Reply

