Welcome to the Apocalypse: My Favorite Post Apocalyptic Audiobooks of 2011: Zombies

13 01 2012

Today’s Welcome to the Apocalypse post, I continue with my favorite Post Apocalyptic audiobooks of 2011. Today’s focus is on those pesky, cannibalistic undead hordes that just make it so hard for civilization to remain, well, civilized. 2011 was a boon for Zombie Apocalypse novels, especially with the Audible.com/Permuted Press deal which brought many of their popular zombie novels to audiobook form.

Now, a few notes before you get too upset if you find your favorite zombie audiobook left off the list. First off, I am focusing on Zombie Apocalypse novels, as opposed to Zombie outbreak novels. Zombie outbreak novels usually follow a few characters as they attempt to deal with the initial outbreak. Some examples would be Jonathon Maberry’s Dead of Night or Joe McKinney’s Dead City. Now, while the event may eventually lead to an apocalyptic breakdown of society, the books do not specifically deal with the aftermath of the breakdown. Secondly, I am ranking these books not solely on their overall quality, but for their place as Post Apocalyptic Fiction. For example, I love Isaac Marion’s Warm Bodies, and it definitely fits within he Post Apocalyptic subgenre, but as an example of Post Apocalyptic fiction I may not rate it as high as some others that focus more on apocalyptic survival and dealing with the zombie hordes.

So, without much more rambling, my Ten Favorite Zombie Apocalypse audiobooks of 2011. 

Apocalypse of the Dead by Joe McKinney

Tantor Audio

My Review

The Undead Situation by Eloise J. Knapp

Audible Frontiers

My Review

The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor by Robert Kirkman & Jay Bonansinga

MacMillan Audio

My Review

Allison Hewitt is Trapped by Madeleine Roux

Audible Frontiers

My Review

Domain of the Dead by Ian McKinnon

Audible Frontiers

My Review

Deadline (Newsflesh, Book 2) by Mira Grant

Hachette Audio

My Review

The Becoming by Jessica Meigs

Audible Frontiers

My Review

The First Days by Rhiannon Frater

Audible Frontiers

My Review

Ex-Heroes by Peter Clines

Audible Frontiers

My Review

Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick

Brilliance Audio

My Review


Actions

Information

One response

21 03 2013
Tracey Ennis

I have read all three of Mira Grant’s the Newsflesh Trilogy and I must say I have never read the genre but loved these novels immensley.

Leave a comment