Audiobook Review: The Dark Room by Jonathan Moore

13 04 2017


The Dark Room by Jonathan Moore

Read by David Colacci

Highbridge Audio

Grade B
The Dark Room, Jonathan Moore’s loosely related follow up to The Poison Artist, was not the book I expected. Crime fiction is full of the twisted antihero. Police Procedurals tend to focus on gruff, lone wolf, self destructive detectives who push the boundaries of the law to get justice. So, when I slowly began to realize that the main character of this novel, Gavin Cain was a competent, well adjusted and likeable police detective, I was like… What the hell! The Dark Room is a solid mystery full of noir atmosphere that should delight hard core crime fiction fans. It was well written, full of dark twists, hidden secrets and memorable characters. Yet, like The Poison Artist, I think I respected the writing and appreciated the storytelling more than I actually enjoyed it. It was one of those experiences where I wanted to race to the end partly because I wanted to know what happened, but mostly because I was ready to move on to the next book in my queue. 
So, David Colacci narrated this book. I’m not so sure what else to say. You basically know what you’re gonna get when Colacci reads a book. Typically solid, easily listenable but rarely will you be blown away by his performance. His pacing is solid but his characters are pretty exchangeable and his British accent was at best, dull. Overall, I’d put The Dark Room in the upper tier of crime fiction but I also don’t see it as a book that will linger in my mind for any significant amount of time. 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

