Audiobook Week Day 3: Mid Week Meme

19 06 2013

Current/most recent audiobook:

One of my biggest Audiobook enablers is Tanya Perez, aka Dogearedcopy. One thing I love about Tanya is that I feel like she has a great handle of what I like, and when she makes recommendations, even ones without Zombies, Robots or Spaceships, I listen and obey.

Impressions:

I am only about 7 hours into the 43 Hour production, but so far, it’s living up to Tanya’s excellent track record. Ever since listening to Manil Suri’s excellent City of Devi, I have become fascinated with India, and Shantaram is making me feel like I am walking the streets of Bombay, visiting the places that tourists will never see. This is my first time listening to Humphrey Bower and so far, he has wonderfully handled the many characters.

Current/most recent favorite audiobook:

I expected to enjoy Taylor Steven’s latest Vanessa Michael Munroe Thriller, but I didn’t expect it to be my favorite action thriller of the year. A lot of the credit goes to the wonderful Hilary Huber who just allows the action to simmer until it hits a boiling rage.

Favorite narrator you’ve discovered recently:

Holy Crap Captain Janeway! Kate Mulgrew gives an enthusiastic performance in NOS4A2 that just made the audiobook so much fun. Like his father, Hill can sometimes go on and on, but with Mulgrew reading, you wish he would never stop.

One title from your TBL (to be listened) stack, or your audio wishlist:

I was a big fan of Lauren Beukes Zoo City, and a love Hachette Audio’s multicast Audiobook productions. Put them both together and I can’t help but be excited. It doesn’t hurt that it’s a novel about a time travelling serial killer and includes work by some of my favorite narrators including Khristine Hvam and Jay Snyder. If this one is not on your TBL pile, than I hope that means you have already listened.

Actions

Information

8 responses

19 06 2013
Laurie C

OK, I have to add all of these to my TBL list, except Shantaram I’ve had on my shelf in print for years and haven’t read yet!

19 06 2013
Kristin T.

I’m not familiar with any of these…will have to check them out! I enjoy multi-cast narrators – they can really enhance a book. I just finished Innocent Traitor by Alison Weir and that was a multi-cast production.

~Kristin @ Always With a Book

19 06 2013
Bella

I had no clue Kate Mulgrew was a narrator, I’m going to have to check out her books just because of my Star Trek love!!!

19 06 2013
Laura Fabiani

LOL Your comment of your favorite narrator is so funny! It’s true that a narrator can make us happy to listen to something we would find harder if read.

19 06 2013
Michelle Erin (@michelleerin)

43 hours! My goodness. I am going to check out NOS4A2…

19 06 2013
Miss Pippi

Captain Janeway! I had no idea! I will need to look her up. Thanks for sharing!

19 06 2013
a library mama

Shantaram sounds fascinating, if maybe a bit intimidating! But I love reading about India.

19 06 2013
Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)

I just finished reading The Doll. I am interested in hearing how the narrator interprets Vanessa’s voice. I’ve got The Shining Girls coming.

Leave a Reply

