Audiobook Week 2013 Day 1: Your Audiobook Year

17 06 2013

 

Monday: 2012-2013, Your Audiobook Year
Are you new to audiobooks in the last year? Have you been listening to them forever but discovered something new this year? Favorite titles? New times/places to listen? This is your chance to introduce yourself and your general listening experience.

2013 so far has been a strange year for me for audiobooks. Often by this point in the year, I have had a few titles that have really blown me away. I have had one or two major surprises, and a nice group of books I just can’t stop recommending. At this point last year, I had been actively recommending books like The Rook by Daniel O’Malley, The Stand by Stephen King, 14 by Peter Clines and Defending Jacob by William Landay. All these books were awesome and amazing and ended up on my 2012 Best of list. Yet, in 2013, I’m struggling for find books that garnish equal excitement.

It’s not that 2013 has been a bad year. So far I have reviewed just over 100 Audiobooks and I have only really hated 1. I have actually rated nearly a quarter of them somewhere in the A range. Yet, I think I have had very few that blown me away. Yet, I think it’s for a few reasons. The first half of 2013 has been full of events, and many of my favorites so far have been part of series. I find it much harder to actively recommend novels that require the listener to go back and read three of four novels first to get the full impact. I think social media encourages instant gratification recommendations, and so, if’s easier to say, YOU"LL LOVE THE ROOK! Than, EXTINCTION MACHINE is awesome, but first make sure you read Patient Zero and The Dragon Factory and King of Plagues and (I think I ran out of my 140 characters.) So, yes, there have been some awesome listens in 2013, and I think if you follow me in a trip through my Audiobook Year, you will find it has a lot of awesome.

EVENTS:

BLOGGER RECOMMENDATION WEEK

I started out 2013 with a week dedicated to titles on some of my favorite bloggers Year End Recommendations Lists. I think this is something I will continue to do and maybe expand next year, because I got to listen to a lot of great Audiobooks I may never have listened to before. I ended up choosing three books that were a lot of fun. My favorite from this group was an audiobook recommended to me by Dave from The Audiobookaneers. The other novels I listened to were Gutshot Straight Recommended by Jen Forbus from Jen’s Book Thoughs, and Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk which was on several end of year lists including Book Riot.  The Troupe is a 2012 title, and if I had read it in 2012 it would have had a place on my end of the year list.  Anyone who thinks Fantasy is all Elves and Magic Swords hasn’t experienced this wonderful novel set in the world of Vaudeville.


THE HUMAN DIVISION LISTEN ALONG:

Along with Dave from The Audiobookaneers, each Friday for 13 Weeks I reviewed an episode of John Scalzi’s serial novel which takes place in his Old Man’s War universe. It was a lot of fun, and along the way I got to interview the narrator of the project William Dufris.

THE ARMCHAIR AUDIES

Once again this year, under the tutelage of Jennifer from The Literate Housewife, I took on three categories of The Audies Awards. My categories were Fantasy, Science Fiction and Paranormal. When I started there were 16 nominees and over 215 hours of listening not including the prequels I may need to listen to. Before nominations were announced I had already listened to 6 of the nominees so that knocked it down to about 140 hours of new to me audio. I think Armchair Audies was again highly successful, I personally correctly picked The Paranormal Category, and my Science Fiction didn’t match, but the one I thought would win did. There were some great listens along the way. A particular favorite was the crazed Steampunk Comedy of Errors ALL MEN OF GENIUS by Lev AC Rosen.

ZOMBIE AWARENESS MONTH

Once again my slice of the Internet was taken over by The Undead for the month of May. For May, I reviewed over 20 Zombie Audiobooks, had an interview with author Eloise J. Knapp, a special post from Zombie Author Joe McKinney and three Zombie Roundtables talking about Young Adult Zombie Literature, Zombie Apocalypse Survival with Tantor Audio Authors and Characters from Permuted Press Authors. I reviewed some amazing audiobooks, some of my favorites being Eloise J. Knapp’s THE UNDEAD HAZE, Jessica Meigs’ THE BECOMING: REVEALATIONS and the updated version of WORLD WAR Z.

 

SOME 2013 FAVORITES

While many of my events had me listening to 2012 titles, there has been plenty of great listening experiences.

MY FAVORITE AUDIOBOOK OF 2013 SO FAR:

Extinction Machine (Joe Ledger, Bk. 5)

If you are not listening to the Joe Ledger series, well… I don’t know what to do with you.

BIGGEST SURPRISES

The Mad Scientist’s Daughter by Cassandra Rose Clark read by Kate Rudd

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson read by Fenella Woolgar

FAVORITE HORROR

Red Moon by Benjamin Percey Read by the Author

NOS4A2 by Joe Hill Read by Kate Mulgrew

GREAT NEW EDITIONS TO ONGOING SF/F SERIES

The Rift Walker by Clay and Susan Griffith read by James Marsters

The Daylight War by Peter V. Brett read by Pete Bradbury

FAVORITE 2013 POST APOCALYPTIC/DYSTOPIAN

The City of Devi by Manil Suri Read by Vikas Adam and Priya Ayyar

Fuse by Julianna Baggott Read by Khristine Hvam, Casey Holloway, Kevin T. Collins, and Pierce Cravens

FAVORITE 2013 YOUNG ADULT SERIES EDITIONS

Fragments by Dan Wells read by Julian Whelan

FAVORITE STANDALONE THRILLERS

Suspect by Robert Crais read by McLeod Andrews

Gun Machine by Warren Ellis read by Reg. E. Cathey

FAVORITE THRILLER SERIES EDITIONS

The Doll by Taylor Stevens read by Hilary Huber

Dead Aim by Joe Lansdale read by Phil Gigante

The Lawyer’s Lawyer by James Sheehan Read by Rick Zieff

THE REST OF 2013

Now that I have gotten through my events, I am focusing of more laissez-faire approach to my listening. More focus on New Releases and just listening to what I want, when I want. Two things I plan on focusing on. I want to save one slot a week, starting in July, to series I have started, but not finished. This will lead to more series reviews. Also, starting in July, I plan to bring back my weekly Welcome to the Apocalypse feature.

Note: This all depends on one major issue in my life. There is a slight chance, due to a family medical issue, for personal and financial reasons, that I may need to drastically reduce the detail and frequency of my blog posts, or even go on hiatus. It simply comes down to whether I will need to pick up another part time job, or discontinue the expense of Comcast, which provided my Internet and Cable services. This likely won’t even become a consideration until the end of July, so I hope that things will be more favorable then, but, I will do my best to honor any commitments I have made, up until I can’t.


Actions

Information

12 responses

17 06 2013
Darlene's Book Nook (@DarleneBookNook)

I am keeping track of all your recommendations, Bob. This is a great list!

My favourite audiobook this year so far is Shadow’s Claim by Kresley Cole (Paranormal Romance), which isn’t likely to be your cup of tea 😉

For YA, I loved Divergent by Veronica Roth.

I also loved Written in Red by Anne Bishop, which has a cast of interesting characters and great world-building.

17 06 2013
BarkLessWagMore (@FMMFC)

Wow, you have been busy with events. I joined in on only category for The Armchair Audies and it was more than enough work for me 🙂

I hope you are able to keep blogging. I don’t always comment but I look forward to posts and reviews.

17 06 2013
BarkLessWagMore (@FMMFC)

*only one category – romance

17 06 2013
lakesidemusing

I’ve been on the library hold list for Life After Life forever, or so it seems. Off to investigate the audio…can’t imagine why I haven’t considered it before now. Thanks!

17 06 2013
Tanya Patrice

Just bookmarked this post because I’m going to take some time to get through all these recommendations! And you’re making me regret reading the print version of Fuse instead of listening to the audio – which I did for the first book in the series! I loved reading Fuse, but I think I would have loved the audio even more.

17 06 2013
Julie S.

Wow this is an amazing list! I love that you represented all the different genres. You are well read.. er… listened?

17 06 2013
Michelle Erin (@michelleerin)

I haven’t heard of the Joe Ledger books. Off to check them out.

17 06 2013
Literate Housewife

I would love to sit down and talk to you about Life After Life. I am so on the fence about that book. There were moments I loved it to death, there were parts that bored me to tears, and there were parts that disappointed me. I don’t know if it was the hype or what. I am confused about it.

I am not, however, confused about Redshirts. I picked it up on a whim after reading your review and it is so much fun. Like you mentioned, WW isn’t technically a perfect narrator, but he so fits the subject matter. Thank you for making me want to be a more well rounded audiobook nerd. 🙂

17 06 2013
Elizabeth

I just got my copy of Life After Life – I’ve seen so many conflicting reports that I can’t wait to start listening!

18 06 2013
theguildedearlobe

One thing I loved about it is each person can take away something totally different from the book.

18 06 2013
Devourer of Books

I really don’t know what the audiobook internet would do without you.

18 06 2013
montsamu

@Devourer of Books — No. Doubt.

Leave a Reply

