Armchair BEA: Introductions

28 05 2013

I was unsure whether I wanted to do Armchair BEA this year because I this is one of my busiest blog times, and add onto that some family issues that have been monopolizing my time, I wasn’t sure how much I could do. Right now, I am firmly in the midst of my Zombie Awareness Month Event, which while suffering some due to time constraints, has featured reviews of 20 Zombie Audiobooks and so far 1 interview, and has a bunch of cool stuff coming up this week. I am also preparing for the biggest event of the year for me, June Is Audiobook Month, and Audiobook Week, which as an audiobook blogger is my favorite time of year. I though that at least I could do an introductory post, then maybe try to slip some things in along the way.

So, here we go:

Question #1:

My name is Bob and I love to shove stories through my various faceholes for consumption. As of about 7 years ago, I began o consume my fiction primarily through my ears through audiobooks. I have been blogging for a while, but my current blog, the audiobook Blog knows as The Guilded Earlobe, has been my bread and butter for a while. I started this blog because I saw a lack of good audiobook blogs in my genres, which are horror, science fiction, thrillers, and fantasy, that actually dealt with the production and narration. Luckily, I have since discovered a plethora of wonderful audiobook bloggers.

Question #4:

I am currently reading Isolation by Dan Wells, a Partials World Novella. I am currently listening to Zombie: A Love Story by Patricia Lee Macomber and will be stating The Becoming: Revelations, book 3 in The Becoming Series by Jessica Meigs today.

My favorite books of 2013 so far are Extinction Machine, the latest Joe Ledger Novel by Jonathon Maberry and the literary Werewolf novel, Red Moon by Benjamin Percy.

Question # 7:

Honestly, I am a bit twisted. I could point you to my Top 20 Audiobooks of the Year Posts, or my Post Apocalyptic Theme lists, but truly, my favorite post is my faux April Fool’s review of a novel called Robots vs. Zombies in Post Apocalyptic Narnia.

Question #8:
I will take another tract and say which characters I wouldn’t want to eat with. Zombies. Now, I’ve been known to have some poor table manners but I rarely if ever eat my fellow human beings. Now, if I had to choose, I would love to have dinner with Seanan McGuire, Jonathan Maberry and Chuck Wendig, but we’d probably get tossed out of any establishment when Seanan and Chuck begin yelling PENIS at each other.

Question #10:

It’s no question that my favorite part of the Book Blogging community is those wonderful audiobook bloggers. Yet, specifically, my awesome cohorts at The Armchair Audies. The Audies is a blog event where audiobook bloggers pick categories of The Audie Awards, which is basically the Oscars of Audiobooks, and listen and review them. We are currently is full sing, as the Audies Awards take place at the end of BEA, and you can find over 100 reviews is a large percentage of the categories at The Armchair Audies webpage run by the awesome Literate Housewife.

Also on the Blog Today:

A Review of Zom-B City by Darren Shan

A Zombie Awareness Month Author Roundtable featuring Young Adult Authors Darren Shan, Ilsa J. Bick and Sean Beaudoin.

Actions

Information

20 responses

28 05 2013
Tanya Patrice

Glad you decided to participate and it’s nice to learn more about you and the blog – which I love of course! And yeah – I wouldn’t want to eat with zombies either – I’m sure I’d become the meal.

28 05 2013
WordsAndPeace

glad to see you here. Stupid me, I guess I never paid enough attention to your pronouns in your posts, I had not registered that you were a HE. But I still enjoy very much your blog, lol. Reminds me of Z’s surprise when he discovers that H is a SHE. of course as an audiobook lover and pro, you understand I’m FINALLY [shame on me] listening to Ready Player One. I LOVE that audio, it is so darn good. Just 1 more CD to go, I want to know the end of course, but at the same time I don’t want it to end.
I think everyone interested in the current culture should read, no LISTEN to this book, the narrator is so incredible.

30 05 2013
theguildedearlobe

Yes, sadly I am a dude. But, Ready Player One is full of awesome.

30 05 2013
WordsAndPeace

I am really so amazed by the creativity of that guy. need to write my review today!!

28 05 2013
a barmy bookworm

Hey there, Bob! One of the few males around, huh! Hope you enjoy BEA :0)

28 05 2013
Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)

I am struggling with time constraints too! Which is frustrating as I love, love Audiobook Month, but have to put preparations for my daughter’s wedding first.

28 05 2013
Jennifer

I’m so glad to hear that you rarely eat humans. That’s quite important! It’s nice to learn some more about you. šŸ™‚

Happy ABEA!

28 05 2013
Stormy

I think your blog might be my introduction to audiobook blogs. I’ve been firmly anti-audiobook in the past, but this year I’m (slowly) letting go of that prejudice and trying to embrace the audiobook. Can’t do zombies though–they’re probably the ONE thing I just can’t handle in books. It doesn’t matter how unscary the book/movie/whatever actually is, just the idea of the undead creeps me out.

30 05 2013
theguildedearlobe

Audiobooks are wonderful, largely due to the fact you can end up ingesting my books. Since I can’t do things like work and walk and drive while reading, I can do it while listening. This makes me happy.

28 05 2013
Andi (@estellasrevenge)

You might have the best blog name ever. I’m sure you’ve heard that plenty, but it’s still true.

Happy Armchair BEA!

30 05 2013
theguildedearlobe

Sometimes I wonder about my blog name, but I’m glad that the COOL people like it.

28 05 2013
Rachel @ Unforgettable Books

Nice how interested you are into audiobooks, I love reading aloud though listening leads to my mind drifting. I wouldn’t want to eat with Zombies either, like the way you twisted the question.

30 05 2013
theguildedearlobe

If audiobooks are something that you want to get into, sometimes it takes a bit of time. Listening is a skill that can be developed. I always suggest starting off with something you are already familiar with, like a favorite childhood classic.

28 05 2013
teresasreading

So glad you decided to participate. I credit you with my knowledge of zombies!

28 05 2013
Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

Welcome to Armchair BEA. Haha…I love your blog name! I totally wish I could listen to more audiobooks, but I have a hard time justifying the cost, and my local library doesn’t have a large selection of audiobooks. Any suggestions? I need to read Isolation and Fragments. I read Partials and really loved it. The majority of the books she reviews isn’t audiobooks, though she does do an Audiobook Friday post, but I think you’d like The Aussie Zombie’s blog. Good luck with the rest of your Armchair BEA experience.

Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

30 05 2013
theguildedearlobe

If you are willing to review audiobooks, I recommend checking out Audiobook Jukebox which has a Blogger Audiobook Review Copy program. Also, check if your library has a downloadable audio program like Overdrive.

I am already a big fan of The Aussie Zombie. She does excellent work down under.

28 05 2013
Redhead

You are my go-to-guy for audiobook recommendations. I live in a college town, so nearly everyone here is from somewhere else and has 8+ hours to drive to see the ‘rents. when people ask me for scifi/fantasy audiobook info, your blog is one of the place I send them for recommendations.

30 05 2013
theguildedearlobe

This is because you are awesome. I have gotten plenty of recommendations from your blog, so there is balance in the world.

29 05 2013
Laurie c

I can’t do zombies this month, but I’ve been spreading the word that it’s Zombie Awareness Month. I already knew a lot about you and your blog, but I’m always glad to learn your latest favorites. I didn’t know Red Moon was a literary werewolf novel! I wonder if it could possibly be as good of an audiobook as The Last Werewolf with Robin Sachs????

30 05 2013
theguildedearlobe

Red Moon is definitely different from The last Werewolf but it’s damn good. Robin Sachs was a master, and Red Moon is read by the author, but he does a really good job, and I am typically skeptical of author narrations. My review will be up next week.

Leave a Reply

