Armchair Audies 2013 Category Wrap Up Post: Paranormal

22 05 2013

2013 Armchair Audies Category Wrap up: Paranormal:

Ah, Paranormal. The catch all category to throw uneasily labeled genre fiction into. The Paranormal Category seems to be the red headed step child of Speculative Fiction, with an easily malleable definition. Surprisingly, it was one hell of a category this year. Some of my overall favorites made it into this category, with only one real head scratcher title. My listening experiences within this category is why I love this event. I may not have listened to a title like Gunmetal Magic, nor, despite my issues with the series, ever visited Simon R. Green’s Nightside. So, here are the nominees.

Click on Cover Image for My Review

The Greyfriar (Vampire Empire Book One) by Clay and Susan Griffith

Read by James Marsters

Buzzy Multimedia

Length: 10 Hrs 41 Min

Gunmetal Magic by Ilona Andrews

Read by Renee Raudman

Tantor Audio

Length: 12 Hrs 43 Min

My Life as a White Trash Zombie by Diane Rowland

Read by Allison McLemore

Audible Frontiers

Length: 8 Hrs 44 Min

Spellbound by Larry Correia (Book 2 of the Grimnoir Chronicles)

Read by Bronson Pinchot

Audible Frontiers

Length: 16 Hrs 25 Min

The Bride Wore Black Leather by Simon. R. Green (Nightside, Bk. 12)

Read by Marc Vietor

Audible Frontiers

Length: 10 Hrs 31 Min

My Picks

For this category, I decided to break it down into two picks, with a pick for who I think will win, and my overall pick. I did this because it was just so close and I feel both titles deserved recognition. Last Year, Larry Correia’s Hard Magic was by far the best of the lot. This year, the sequel Spellbound had my overall favorite narrator performance. Bronson Pinchot just blew me away. Yet, I have this little itching in my gut that says that James Marster’s performance of The Greyfriar could easily pull it out. It’s a great performance of a fun book, and would be deserving of the win. So:

Who Will Win

My Pick To Win

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 05 2013
Literate Housewife’s Jennifer Conner and The Armchair Audies » AudioGals

[…] as to how to make it happen. I was tweeting about it with Tanya from dog eared copy and Bob from The Guilded Earlobe and through those conversations the idea of selecting categories to judge came out and the Armchair […]

17 06 2013
Audiobook Week 2013 Day 1: Your Audiobook Year | The Guilded Earlobe

[…] I took on three categories of The Audies Awards. My categories were Fantasy, Science Fiction and Paranormal. When I started there were 16 nominees and over 215 hours of listening not including the prequels […]

Leave a Reply

