Armchair Audies 2013 Wrap Up Post: Science Fiction

21 05 2013

2013 Armchair Audies Category Wrap up: Science Fiction

This years Science Fiction nominees offered an interesting dilemma, except for one title, I had already listed to them. The Science Fiction Category offers a lot of wonderful audiobooks this year from a wide selection of subgenres. I was truly amazed by the diversity of the titles. All of them offer wonderful performances by their narrators and there’s not one title here that I would be disappointed if it won. Here are the nominees.

Click on the Cover Image for My Review:

Pure by Julianna Baggott

Read by Khristine Hvam, Joshua Swanson, Kevin T. Collins and Casey Holloway

Hachette Audio

Length: 14 Hrs and 9 Min

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

Read by Emily Janice Card

Random House Audio

Length: 9 Hrs and 3 Min

Agatha H and the Clockwork Princess by Phil Foglio and Kaja Foglio (A Girl Genius Novel, Bk. 2)

Read by Angela Dawe

Brilliance Audio

Length: 18 Hrs 35 Min

14 by Peter Clines

Read by Ray Porter

Audible Frontiers/Permuted Press

Length: 12 Hrs 42 Min

Invincible (The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier, Bk. 2) by Jack Campbell

Read by Christian Rummel

Audible Frontiers

Length: 11 Hrs 46 Min

My Picks

I really struggled picking a winner out of such a strong category. I think Emily Janice Card’s performance of Age of Miracles was mesmerizing, and I couldn’t help but be happy that one of my favorite series, The Lost Fleet and it’s excellent narrator Christian Rummel received a nod. Julianna Baggot’s brilliant world in Pure came alive through the work of four excellent narrators. Angela Dawe gave one of the most fascinating and funniest performances in her reading of Agatha H and the Clockwork Princess   Yet, when it came time to chose who I thought would win, and which title I wanted to win, I came up with two distinctively different titles. Peter Clines 14 was one of my overall favorite audiobooks of 2012 and Ray Porter is a breathtaking narrator. Yet, the slow burning Apocalypse in The Age of Miracles and spot on narration of Card I feel may sway more judges.

Who Will Win:

My Pick:

Actions

Information

3 responses

21 05 2013
Literate Housewife

Great write up!

23 05 2013
Melanie

Cool, you picked to win the only one I’ve heard. It gets my vote, too, by default.

17 06 2013
Audiobook Week 2013 Day 1: Your Audiobook Year | The Guilded Earlobe

[…] Literate Housewife, I took on three categories of The Audies Awards. My categories were Fantasy, Science Fiction and Paranormal. When I started there were 16 nominees and over 215 hours of listening not including […]

Leave a Reply

