The Armchair Audies 2013: My Categories

2 03 2013

It’s Armchair Audies time and once again I will be taking on three categories, Fantasy, Paranormal and Science Fiction. Like last year, there is 16 nominees, and like last year, I have already listened to 6 of them, leaving me 10 titles to listen to. To add to my burden, I have two nominees, Agatha H and the Clockwork Princess and The Bride Wears Black Leather that are both part of a series. In fact, The Bride Wears Black Leather has 11 books before it and is the final book of that series. I don’t think I will listen to all of the prequel novels, but I will try and listen to a few.

The total time commitment of all three categories is: 215 Hrs 21 Min

The total time of the audiobooks I have already listened to: 75 Hrs 1 Min

The total time for new to me audiobooks: 140 Hrs 20 Min

Fantasy

For the Fantasy category, I neither successfully predicted any of the nominees, nor did I listen to an of the titles before the nominations were announced. It’s the biggest time commitment coming in at 93 Hrs and 38 Minutes. Due to this I will listen to the category first, in order of length.

All Men of Genius by Lev AC Rosen

Read by Emily Gray

Recorded Books

Length: 17 Hrs 2 Min

Theft of Swords by Michael J. Sullivan (The Riyria Revelations, Volume 1)

Read by Tim Gerard Reynolds

Recorded Books

Length: 22 Hrs 37 Min

The Restorer by Amanda Stevens (The Graveyard Queen, Book 1)

Read by Khristine Hvam

Harlequin Enterprises, Ltd. \ Audible

Length: !0 Hrs 52 Min

Anita by Keith Roberts

Read by Nicola Barber

Neil Gaiman Presents

Length: 9 Hrs

Princess of Wands by John Ringo

Read by Suzy Jackson

Audible Frontiers

Length: 11 Hrs 29 Min

Heroes Die: The First of the Acts of Caine by Matthew Woodring Stover

Read by Stefan Rudnicki

Audible Frontiers

Length: 22 Hrs 28 Min

Paranormal

For the Paranormal Category, I successfully predicted a nomination for Spellbound. I have listened to two of the titles nominated, Spellbound and The Greyfriar prior to the nominations. The combined length of the audiobooks is 54 Hrs and 28 minutes. Due to the fact that one nominee has multiple prequels, I plan to tackle this category last.

The Greyfriar (Vampire Empire Book One) by Clay and Susan Griffith

Read by James Marsters

Buzzy Multimedia

Length: 10 Hrs 41 Min

My Review

Gunmetal Magic by Ilona Andrews

Read by Renee Raudman

Tantor Audio

Length: 12 Hrs 43 Min

My Life as a White Trash Zombie by Diane Rowland

Read by Allison McLemore

Audible Frontiers

Length: 8 Hrs 44 Min

Spellbound by Larry Correia (Book 2 of the Grimnoir Chronicles)

Read by Bronson Pinchot

Audible Frontiers

Length: 16 Hrs 25 Min

My Review

The Bride Wore Black Leather by Simon. R. Green (Nightside, Bk. 12)

Read by Marc Vietor

Audible Frontiers

Length: 10 Hrs 31 Min

Science Fiction

For the Science Fiction Category, I successfully predicted a nomination for 14 by Peter Clines. Prior to the announcement of nominees I had lstened to all but one of these titles, Agatha H and the Clockwork Princess being the only new to me title. The total time for this category is 66 Hrs and 15 Minutes.

Pure by Julianna Baggott

Read by Khristine Hvam, Joshua Swanson, Kevin T. Collins and Casey Holloway

Hachette Audio

Length: 14 Hrs and 9 Min

My Review

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

Read by Emily Janice Card

Random House Audio

Length: 9 Hrs and 3 Min

My Review

Agatha H and the Clockwork Princess by Phil Foglio and Kaja Foglio (A Girl Genius Novel, Bk. 2)

Read by Angela Dawe

Brilliance Audio

Length: 18 Hrs 35 Min

14 by Peter Clines

Read by Ray Porter

Audible Frontiers/Permuted Press

Length: 12 Hrs 42 Min

My Review

Invincible (The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier, Bk. 2) by Jack Campbell

Read by Christian Rummel

Audible Frontiers

Length: 11 Hrs 46 Min

My Review


Actions

Information

4 responses

2 03 2013
melanie

You end up with some of the categories I’m least knowledgeable about, and I love that I can read up here on them and get a well-informed, balanced opinion. Age of Miracles is the only one I’ve listened to, and I was delighted with it, but I would have placed it in a straight fiction category instead of SF – genre-bending, sure, but not a true SF novel. What do I know, though? 🙂

2 03 2013
Oddiophile

I admire your listening-fu, Bob. I’m just cherry picking a few of the nominees to listen to. For what it’s worth, the Agatha H audiobooks are excellent and a whole lot of fun and it’s worth starting with book one, even though it piles time on your already full plate.

4 03 2013
Heidi

Excited to see your thoughts on a number of the Fantasy books–I considered doing that category myself, but it was SUCH a huge time commitment. Good luck! I really enjoyed both Gunmetal Magic (but I’m a Kate Daniels fan–at least this one CAN be read as a stand alone) and All Men of Genius in print.

4 03 2013
Literate Housewife

I don’t know how I missed that AGE OF MIRACLES is in your category. I really need to give that audiobook a listen. Thanks again for being the listening cornerstone for the Armchair Audies and for creating the Facebook page. You are more awesome than the best title in all three of your categories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

