Audiobook Review: Hexed by Kevin Hearne

5 09 2012

Hexed by Kevin Hearne (The Iron Druid Chronicles, Bk. 2)

Read by Luke Daniels

Brilliance Audio

Length: 8 Hrs 52 Min

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Quick Thoughts: Hexed is filled with lots of action, some hair raising adventure and a whole lot of humor, while telling a heck of a good story. While Hexed has a strong self contained story, Hearne teases his readers with things to come, creating excitement for the series. Hearne knows how to please his audience, and in Hexed he does it in spades.

Grade: A-

Sometimes I think I am a little strange. The past month has thrown a lot of obstacles in my way, and I have definitely that these obstacles have affected my reading life. The other day, I was looking for something light, fun and upbeat. Something that wouldn’t match the mood I was in, which was a little less than pleasant. I decided to listen to the second book in a series I had only recently discovered, Kevin Hearne’s Iron Druid series. I actually discovered this series through a fellow blogger who named the series one of the most humorous reads of 2011. Reading the first novel of the series, Hounded, I had to agree that it was extremely fun and full of laugh out loud moments. Its protagonist, a 2000 year old Druid, living in modern America was just the right amount of snarky and irreverent for me. So, I decided to take on the second novel, Hexed as my light hearted choice to life me out of the doldrums. Then I thought about it. The first novel put the hero in a life and death struggle against a god. That, of course, is a load of laughs. The second novel has our Druid battling evil witches who were once aligned with the Nazis. Along the way he takes on evil nymphs, sadistic gods, flesh eating demons, some religious fanatics, and his demented nosy neighbor who may also be a gun runner. This is what I choose for light hearted.

After his victory in Hounded, everyone seems to wants something from Atticus O’Sullivan. The local witches want a peace accord. His lawyer wants his to lead a mission into Asgard to take out Thor. Oberon, his loyal Irish Wolfhound, wants some sausages. All Atticus wants is to be left alone in his little corner of Tempe, Arizona. Yet, as he finds himself besieged by demons, seductive Bacchants, and a coven of witches desiring his death, Atticus must call in favors and make promises in order to keep the world safe. The second book of this series picks up right where Hearne left off, and keeps the same non-stop pace and light hearted feel while dealing with some deadly threats. The strength of this series is the highly likeable main character, and his relationship with his dog Oberon. I really enjoyed what Hearne did with this novel. He created a strong central story, centered on an Invasion of witches trying to kill Atticus and the local witch coven he recently came to terms with. Yet, Hearne’s also continues to build the mythology of the series, setting up interesting subplots to be explored in future installments. This allows the reader to have a good time within the walls of this tale, while still getting excited about things to come. It is really expertly done. I also like that Hearne allowed us to get more insight into his main character. Despite Atticus’s jocularity, we got to see the intense side of him as well. Hexed is filled with lots of action, some hair raising adventure and a whole lot of humor, while telling a heck of a good story. While Hexed has a strong self contained story, Hearne teases his readers with things to come, creating excitement for the series. Hearne knows how to please his audience, and in Hexed he does it in spades.

Now, I have listened to a bunch of Luke Daniel’s narrations, and I have to say, it’s a close toss up between this series and the Wildcards shared world anthologies for my favorite of his work. What may actually give The Iron Druid series the edge is simply how much fun you can tell the narrator is having with the material. Sometimes in audiobooks, you can just feel the narrator trying to make the material work for the listener, but in this series, Daniels just lets it all rip, because, he knows he can. It’s no secret that Oberon, the dog, is the true star of the series, and anyone listening can just tell how much Daniels is enjoying himself bringing this character to life. Daniels pacing is crisp here, allowing the text to come alive as the author intended. The action comes alive in vivid clarity as Daniel’s navigates Atticus through the slew of badies that Hearne throws in his way. This series is simply a lot of fun to listen to and is quickly becoming one of my favorite Urban Fantasy series. 

Actions

Information

5 responses

6 09 2012
mlfables

I’m currently in the middle of listening to the first audiobook in this series, ‘Hounded’. Its quite good!

Great to know that there is more to come.

6 09 2012
montsamu

Daniels’ turn as Oberon is definitely one of the great fun things in the world of audiobooks.

8 09 2012
lynnsbooks

I loved this series. I have yet to read Tricked but I will do so soon. Oberon is definitely the star of the show but more than that it seems like you can feel the author’s enjoyment when he’s writing this series.
Lynn:D

9 09 2012
Carl V.

The covers of all these have been fun. I need to consider getting more stuff like this on audio because there is just no way I can read everything.

16 09 2012
nrlymrtl

I have enjoyed this series greatly. Hounded was the first time I had listened to Luke Daniels and I was very impressed with his work – Hearne keeps throwing in accents and foreign vocabulary and the occasional talking beastie or demon or such.

Leave a Reply

