Guest Post & Giveaway: Mark Tufo & Fans on Fan/Author Interaction

5 06 2012

Last week, I posted a review of the third entry of one of my favorite new Zombie Apocalypse series Zombie Fallout 3: The End. Mark Tufo, the author posted a link to it on his Facebook page. He was happy with my review, which I gave a solid B grade. For me, giving a novel a B, especially the third book in an ongoing series, is pretty good praise. I had spent all of May listening to Zombie-themed novels, and Zombie Fallout 3 had been my 19th Zombie audiobook that month. Despite my Zombie fatigue, I really enjoyed the novel, and believed my review highlighted that.

Then came all the comments from Mark’s fans. Now, these comments were all positive. They were fans showing up to support their favorite authors. They told stories of how they hated to read before discovering Tufo’s work, or how one of his novels turned a member of their family into readers. Almost all of these comments declared that Mark Tufo was an A in their books. Someone even pointed out that I may not know good Zombie fiction if I only gave him a B.

I was blown away by the response. This type of passion doesn’t just come from the talents of an author. It comes from an author who takes his fans seriously. So, I contacted Mark and some of his fans and asked if they would be able to share their stories with me.

Mark is a self published author. His series was recently picked up by a top audiobook producer called Tantor Audio. With all the stories we’ve seen of prima donna behavior by self published authors, we often neglect the many that are doing it right. I believe Mark is one of those authors who is doing it right.

Now, I will turn this blog over to Mark and his fans:

 

Zombie Fallout – Readers and their author (me! – Mark Tufo)

Hi Bob, thank you for letting me have the opportunity to write a few words on your blog. I also appreciate the time you have spent listening to my books and giving reviews on them.

I’ve been asked this before from at least a dozen authors, What is your connection to your readers and more importantly how do you do it? I hope I don’t sound pretentious that’s not what I’m trying to convey. I think a lot of authors (not all) have a ‘I am superior to all others attitude’ and I think that comes across when they have communication with their readers, if they bother to write back at all. I’ve said it from day one and it’s just as true now as it was back then, I am a blue collar, former military man, raised in a blue collar, military family, I type two fingered and I have a few stories to tell that some folks find interesting.

I am humbled and honored EVERY time a reader contacts me to let me know that they got my book(s) and are in the process of reading it or have read it. I try to respond to every one of them in turn, I’ve always felt that if someone took the time out of their busy day to contact me then it is common courtesy that I do the same. This isn’t some super marketing ploy on my part although I do see the benefit of connecting with my readers. I can’t even count how many readers have thanked me for just responding to their queries, are you kidding me? I should be sending all of them Thank You cards for buying my books.

I love the interaction I have with my readers, I’ve received tons of suggestions on where folks think the books should head and at least a few (in jest) threats to my life should any of a couple of characters be injured or die at any point in the series. BT and Henry the wonder Bullie would be at the head of that list. I consider my readers to be extended family members of the Talbot clan, they root for some characters, they cry at the demise of some and hope beyond hope that a few others meet their untimely deaths. That they have a powerful enough connection to these characters to reach out to me, means that I am doing something right. I have created a world where folks can let all else in their life take a momentary backseat as they immerse themselves in this realm and I personally cannot think of a higher honor. Time is a precious commodity and that they are spending it with me and my stories is something I do not take lightly.

I am an un-established indie writer who most folks know little to nothing about, folks could spend their hard earned money on a million other books but that they get mine is humbling. I appreciate the time you have given me Bob to say a few words on your blog.

Web Site 

Facebook Profile

Twitter

Amazon Author Page

Goodreads

Zombie Fallout Audible Page

Books

Zombie Fallout 

Zombie Fallout 2

Zombie Fallout The End…

Zombie Fallout 3.5

Zombie Fallout 4 — The End has Come and Gone

Zombie Fallout 5

Indian Hill

Indian Hill 2

Indian Hill Conquest

Timothy

Now, along with Mark, some of his fans have contributed their stories about interacting with him:

Rodney S. Carnahan – Mark Tufo Fan

I bought my first Zombie Fallout book just on a whim for my nook. I typed in “zombie” in the search box, and it came up. I figured, $2.99 and it may be good, what the hell. Well, wow was I hooked. His writing style just got me reeled in.

So after I devoured the first two books in the series I thought I would check to see if he had a Facebook account. By that time I had started on the third book.

You always see the movies or hear the stories about these wild marriage proposals guys do. Well Mark seemed to be a pretty reader friendly writer so I sent him a message. I asked him if he had any chance to include a proposal to my girlfriend in his next novel, I would be deeply indebted to him. He said sure, and a few weeks later, even let me write the proposal for the book.

You can read it towards the end of ZF4 when Mike and Gary are sitting on top of the roof surrounded by zombies. Mike decides to take a break and read the paper, just to pass the time
.
Well, then I just had to wait until the book got published. I downloaded it the first day and skimmed thru until I saw it. I got a huge smile on my face, and gave my nook to my girlfriend. “Oh my god, you’ve got to read this baby” I told her.
She couldn’t believe it. And kept asking if it was real. She said yes.

So now, we will be getting married July 14th. And the zombie genre is her new favorite type of book…

Barbara Bobbie Ayala – Mark Tufo Fan

In the beginning, I was a zombie nut, I loved all things zombie.  I would look for zombie books and movies high and low.  The unfortunate thing was that most everything out there stunk! This was before the big zombie craze that made all things zombie fashionable and cool. How fortunate for new zombie recruits to have such an opportunity now to have everything so easily presented to them. Not so for me, I had to HUNT for my fix.  And there was quite a few stinkers that I fell prey too.  I am a voracious reader and have been since childhood. I have a vivid imagination and reading is always a pleasure to me because I can picture the story in my mind and enjoy the mini movie that happens up there in the old brain pan.  So, getting to Mark and his books.  I found him on amazon and after having ordered some previous stinkers and a few keepers, I was keeping my fingers crossed on this one.  HOLY CRAP! When I got that book I was HOOKED!!! I loved his writing. He took the whole genre to a whole new level.  Mark’s writing had me laughing my ass off.  A writer who combined angst, fear, trepidation, anxiety, gore and HUMOR together was a rare find indeed.  He is a storyteller.  I fine art that few have the talent for.  I connected with him on Facebook and was absolutely delighted that he took the time to connect with his fan base. He sent me an autographed copy that I still have.  I actually have two copies of each of his books.  One for reading and one for, don’t you touch that book! I’ve read all his books in both his series more times than I can count.  And my husband and two of my girls are Tufo fan’s as well.  As his fame and popularity continues, he continues to make himself available to all us crazy zombie fans.. He and his wife Tracy bring together a wonderful collaboration of fan support and interaction.  It’s an unconventional membership to be sure, but I will truthfully say that Mark Tufo has done an incredible job of bringing together like minded individuals and creating a pseudo zombie world where having fun together and sharing experiences is a treat.  Yes I’m a zombie nut, but Mark made it fun to share my passion with others who had the same passion.  To top it all off, the dude is humble pie all over. He is a caring person, he and his wife go out of their way to include their fans in the progression of new books and have fun with us while doing it.  Including contests, giveaways, signed copies, unfair contests of the day.  My hope for Mark is that he becomes the next Stephen King, or Dean Koontz.  Not in comparison to them, but a stand alone author in his own right with his own fan base and own genre’. 

Lee Close – Mark Tufo Fan

How did I find Mark Tufo and his books is the first question, easy pure random luck on my part. As some one who loves Sci-Fi and Zompoc and Apocalypse style books I’m perpetually on the hunt for the next big read for me. So at this point I had pretty much read all of the Zompoc books on Amazon on my kindle so I did a random search and Zombie Fallout 1 popped up. At this point it was only 1gbp I thought oh well can’t hurt it will either be very good or really bad. Boy was I shocked I started reading and 8 hours I was finished ZF1 I was astonished so back I went and did a search for Mark Tufo and ZF2 and ZF3 and Indian Hills popped up so I bought them all.

Now nearly a year down the line I’ve read all of Marks books and to be honest there worth every penny, many people have asked me what’s so good about this guys stuff, well easy Mark’s stories pull at that bit of your psyche that asks what would I do in that situation, then you realize that the characters aren’t characters any more there people you know and when you look around you realize there’s a little bit of Mike Talbot in a lot of folks just as there is a little bit of Eliza in them. What is more important when you read the books they stop becoming a book and you can see the scene in your head you can almost smell it trust me in one particular battle that Mike had got into I had to put my sandwich down and I’m ex armed forces it was that visceral.
But wait there more these aren’t your run of the mill zombie books in amongst all the angst and grief and loss there is pure unadulterated comedy so much so I’ve actually sat on my couch laughing out loud with my wife looking at me like I’m crazy. As to Marks other books if you’re a sci-fi fan Indian Hill definitely hits the spot again that same sense of being there and seeing it all thru Mike Talbot’s eyes is there again. Mark has done something that any writers have failed and tried Mike Talbot in ZF is the Same Mike in IH, however there’s differences some subtle some not so but the thing is I’m not going to spoil it for a new reader my advice read ZF1 then read IH1 and you will be pleasantly surprised.

Mark is very much a people person he talks to his fans every day gets them involved in his books and his every day life which for many readers is a fantastic thing. I was also asked recently who Mark wrote like which kinda stumped me however I have an answer Mark is a Mix of Terry Pratchett/Stephen king and Isaac Asimov. I see a great future ahead for Mark and his books With ZF6 due out soon and IH3 and his new book Spirit clearing its a good year to start reading. PS the only book I haven’t read is Timothy yeah I’m scared of clowns I really don’t need the nightmares about that thank you very much lol.

Giveaway: This Giveaway is now over, and the winners are being contacted.

Tantor Audio is offering two sets of the audiobook editions of Zombie Fallout 1 and Zombie Fallout 2 on MP3 CD. This audiobook is narrated by Sean Runnette, and I highly recommend them. You can check out my reviews of both novels by clicking on the titles above.

Entering is simple.

1. In the comment section, indicate that you are entering the giveaway.
2. In the comment section, answer the following question: It’s the Zombie Apocalypse and you are holing up in a secure underground bunker. What author would you want to be holed up with you, and why?
3. Let me know how to contact you, if you win.

This Giveaway will end Sunday, June 10th at Midnight. Winners will be chosen by a random number generator and contacted within 24 hours. If you fail to respond within 2 days of being contacted, I will move to the next person on the list. This giveaway is US only.

 

 

Actions

Information

68 responses

5 06 2012
Tanya Patrice

I’m entering the giveaway 🙂 I LOVE this question – hmmm …. Jonathon Maberry – because he “should” know everything about how to get us from the secret bunker to the zombie-proof uninhabited island in the middle of nowhere that we have already prepped for just such a catastrophe.

6 06 2012
lisa williams

I would like to enter,please.I dont want to sound like im sucking up, but i”d like to be with ALL the Talbot clan (Henry too) and maybe a few people i dont like(gotta have a few to trip up you know) E-mail is darkangel196795@yahoo.com Thanks!!!

6 06 2012
lisa williams

I wasnt to clear in first post but Mark Tufo of course. The military backround, the books, and his awesome sense of humor!!!

5 06 2012
Marshall Franklin

I would have to say Dr. Seuss. I would at least be laughing as the zombies ripped into my flesh, Although, he is already dead so if he was there with me then he would already be a zombie. Hmmm… Email is jmiff328@gmail.com

5 06 2012
Marshall Franklin

I would say Dr. Sueuss. At least we would be laughing as the zombies broke down the door and killed us. Although, he is dead, so if he was there that would mean he was already a zombie. hmmm. My email is jmiff328@gmail.com

5 06 2012
Becky

I am entering the giveaway. If it were the zombie apocalypse, I’d want to be holed up with Mira Grant! Her Newsflesh trilogy has some great zombie fighting and avoidance tips 🙂
moecatj@msn.com

5 06 2012
Becky

We definitely have similar tastes! I just realized the narrator on your two offerings here is the same guy who read THE HUNT (though his name’s not spelled the same on my box for that one… hm. Unless he spells it two ways, I think Macmillan Audio made a boo boo.)

5 06 2012
Mickey@imabookshark

I am entering your giveaway! I think I’d want Maureen Johnson. She’d make them laugh so hard they’d leave. I hope. 🙂

Thanks!
Mickey @ imabookshark (@imabookshark on twitter!)

5 06 2012
Autumn

LOL Ok I’m entering this giveaway. My first thought was Stephen King, but I couldn’t really think of a reason why other than he might have some good ideas as to how to survive. So I decided I needed to think about this. My first thought was Mira Grant like Becky said. Rhiannon Frater might be a good one too for the simple fact that she might have some good ideas on how to kick some Zombie butt.
autumn.crochet@gmail.com

5 06 2012
Dirty Bird

I am entering the give away. I guess I would pick JL Bourne, he’s the only zombie book author that I know has military training (I’m sure there are others, I just don’t know who they are). Maybe that would be helpful in surviving. Barring someone useful to survival I would pick an author like Carl Hiaasen because he is interesting and Florida mystery novels are my other favorite type of book besides post-apocalyptic novels. Contact at mlmiddle@mail.usf.edu

5 06 2012
theguildedearlobe

Florida mystery novels are also a favorite of mine. Tim Dorsey’s Serge Storms novels are one of my all time favorite series.

5 06 2012
Peggy

I am entering the giveaway! I might pick someone that has written some zombie books… who else could give some good tips to survive! I would probably pick Jonathan Maberry!

Thanks for the chance to win!

Peggy
pawingthroughbooks@gmail.com

5 06 2012
Phil Jones

I’m entering the giveaway… Braaaaaiiiinnnss! J. L. Bourne… he’s currently serving in the Navy. He’d be equipped and ready to deal with zombies. thebitslinger@gmail.com

5 06 2012
Tez Leaver

I’d like to enter and am going to choose Mark Tufo, I cannot believe he hasn’t been chosen yet, he’s probably starting to feel like the kid who always gets chosen last in P.E. lol
A. he is an amazing author and the reason I bought a kindle to begin with
B. he is an ex marine and therefore fully qualified to kick some zombie ass, Oh and speaking as a Brit where we can get arrested on ballistics charges for pinging an elastic band in the wrong direction his access to firearms doesn’t hurt either
Tez
Tezleaver@ymail.com

5 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Thanks Tez! I’m just thrilled to be featured on the blog!

5 06 2012
Marshall Franklin

Also, I am entering the giveaway. I posted earlier but forgot to mention that somehow. after reading this post, I picked up Zombie Fallout on my nook and read about 60 pages on my lunch break. Awesome book so far. It’s a refreshing style and tone of voice. I cant wait to finish it.

5 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Thank you Marshall, I hope the trend continues.

8 06 2012
Marshall Franklin

It has so far Mark. Just starting the third book. I never would have guessed that about Tommy. Thats the best twist so far.

5 06 2012
StiffTiff

Entering the contest.

John O’Brien ’cause he and I get along, I love the books, and he has all that military experience.

5 06 2012
Ethan Purtee

I’m entering the giveaway simply because I love your books! I would hole up with J.L.Borne because he wrote how to survive an zombie apocalypse if you’re an average guy.

5 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Thank you Ethan!

5 06 2012
ramon

yes I am entering the giveaway

I would have to say Myke Hawke , he has written a few books on survival . is considered 1 of the best so who else would you want there with you .

5 06 2012
Kat (AussieZombie) (@katlb82)

DONT COUNT MY ENTRY – I’m not in the US (boo 😦 ), but I HAVE to say I love the Zombie Fallout series – I’m just about to reread book 3 again!

5 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Kat I have stuff going on at my author’s page, get in on that!

5 06 2012
Gerald Hughes

I’d like to enter and am going to pick Mark Tufo, I love all his books.Can’t wait for “Zombie Fallout 6”, Hope there’s going to be an “Indian Hill 4”

5 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Thank you Gerald and yes on the IH4 front.

6 06 2012
lisa williams

WAIT WHAT? IH4? MY favorite series! Finished 3 and loved it. I wrote you about it and asked if there would be more in like 2 to 5 yrs. Ha ha if you read the book you”ll understand.

6 06 2012
Gerald Hughes

Great can’t wait to read it. Thanks!!!!!

5 06 2012
Lynn Messner

I am entering the giveaway. If I were holed up in a bunker, the author I would most like to have with me is Mark Tufo because he knows a lot about zombies and survival and I think he would keep everyone entertained with his tales. If I win, email me and I will give you my address.

5 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Thank you Lynn and good luck with the contest (I can also shoot pretty well!)

5 06 2012
Kaitlyn in Bookland

I’m entering. 🙂 I think I would like to be with Jonathan Maberry because he could teach me a thing or two about zombies! Thanks for the giveaway – Happy ArmchairBEA 🙂

5 06 2012
Sara Smolarek

I would like to enter, please. What author would I like with me during the Zombie Apocalypse? That’s easy – Mark Tufo, of course! Let’s face it, Mike Talbot is doing a pretty good job of surviving, and I firmly believe Mike is Mark’s alter-ego. Just when you’re so scared you want to cry, “they” can make you laugh!

6 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Hi Sara, I’m not nearly as bad about germs as Mike is, but then I have 24 hour access to bleach!

5 06 2012
Bobbie Ayala

I’m entering please, and my choice of author would be Mark Tufo of course. Laughing my ass off while shooting zombies? Hell yeah!! Plus I LOVE strawberry pop tarts.

6 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Hi Bobbie, thank you for your post and good luck in the drawing! If by laughing you mean I’d be wetting myself, then YES we would have a grand time!

15 05 2013
Nick Basulto

So Georgia sold her house in September? Where did she move?

20 05 2013
Nick Basulto

BMAABS – My personal Hero.

6 06 2012
Jess resides here (@frellathon)

I am so entering. I would say Paul Cleave he writes great books and knows how to get in the head of serial killers so we could brainstorm ideas on how to kill people.

6 06 2012
Glenda Dill-Franklin

I really enjoyed reading the review, Mark Tufo’s guest post, and the fans letters. I even teared up a little. So I just had to leave a comment! I thought of a few different authors but my mind kept finding reasons why not to choose all but one, Mark Tufo (and his family of course). Why? A retired military wife knows the value of a man, like Mark, and how he would do anything to keep his family alive. He would not leave his extended team (I’m counting on) or quit on them and also he would get along with my husband in the apocalypse. :))))))

6 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Thank you Glenda, there are no greater things in this life than one’s family and friends and I could think of no higher purpose than to protect each and every one of them and as long as your husband brings the beer we will get along fabulously!

6 06 2012
Bishop Don C

I’m entering the giveaway!! I’m down with you Mr. Tufo! At least I KNOW you have the skills to shot those zombie bastards in the face!! xombie.hunta@gmail.com

10 06 2012
Mark Tufo

The forehead Bishop! The face would be so much grosser! And thanks!

6 06 2012
angi martin

I would like to enter the giveaway. I would definitely hope Mark tufo was in our bunker. He would probably be our best hope of surviving. This man has some crazy probably life saving thoughts roaming around in his mind…… Second pick probably John o’brien.

10 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Hey Angi, Thank you, I hope my crazy thoughts would help!

7 06 2012
Laurie C

I would like to enter the giveaway. From reading other comments, it sounds like having Mark Tufo in the bunker with me is the way to go. He sounds like a gentleman who wouldn’t push a lady out the front entrance to distract the zombie horde while he runs out the back. Love Tantor Audio for its outside-the-mainstream choices, too!

10 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Hi Laurie, I haven’t been called a gentleman in years but yes I would take one for the team! And thank you!

7 06 2012
Tara Andrews

Please sign me up..feeling lucky!

7 06 2012
Jenna

I’d love love love to win- I have NO audio books, but would LOVE to have some (I’m moving and my drive will be longer now!)

I would definitely take Robert Kirkman with me- who better to survive a zombie apocalyspe with than the man behind The Walking series??? They are amazing! (and the TV show isn’t too bad either!)

7 06 2012
Jenna

Opps- hit enter! my email:
papajm25 AT gmail DOT com

7 06 2012
Kimberly Sansone

As much as I love Stephen King, like many of the others I would choose Mark Tufo. Having read the ZF and IH series (in record time), there isn’t anyone else, besides my four-legged furries, I would want at my side. Not only does he have the training, but he and his family could keep me laughing for days!!

10 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Hi Kimberly, we do have a good time, not sure how much fun throwing in the apocalypse would be but who knows!

9 06 2012
Tara Andrews

Sign me up!

9 06 2012
Carleen Pierce

I would like to be entered in the contest. While Mark Tufo would be an invaluable asset, I doubt he would be “holed up” anywhere during a zombie apocalypse – more likely out kicking undead ass. Soooo, I guess the author I would choose at the moment is Suzanne Collins. Anyone who has the imagination to come up with dozens of ways for teenagers to destroy one another in a futuristic arena would come in handy when the ammo runs out. My email is: carleen@pierce3.net

10 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Hi Carleen, Oh I would be holed up, I have no desire to engage an overwhelming enemy!

9 06 2012
Sarajane

I would please like to enter and today is my birthday, so this would be an awesome gift! And I would totally want to be bunkered up with Mark Tufo! Out of the 50 or so zombie books I’ve read, his are by far my faves!!! and he corresponds with his fans which is uh-mazing! He even wished me a happy birthday today! Thanks Mark! My email is sarajanehawkins@gmail.com

10 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Did you save me some cake?

10 06 2012
theguildedearlobe

Happy Birthday Sarajane, sorry it’s a bit late!

9 06 2012
Trenda lee

I want to win. Zombie Apocalypse has happened and mark Tufo aka ‘Mike
Talbot is who I will run to. Courage and brains and the ability to get out of some pretty hairy situations. I live in Missouri but I have enough Info thanks to Mark to find him and survive. Only problem is me and every person that had read his Zombie Fallout series and Indian Hills series will have the same idea to Get to him! Mark is THE Zombie Man and I think about his stories all the time!!!! Huge Fan!!!

10 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Hi Trenda, my underground bunker is in an undisclosed location, but if you bring pop-tarts and/or peanut butter I will let you in!

9 06 2012
Beth Giglio-Hindbaugh

I stumbled upon Mark Tufo’s ZF books on accident on my nook, as a diehard zombie fan the book looked intriguing. I was hooked by the first chapter and haven’t looked back since. I feel privileged to have read all five ZF books and Timothy and now I’m working my way thru Indian Hill, the very fact that Mr Tufo took the time to respond personally to my Facebook post to him instantly elevated him to fav author status in my eyes. All his book I’ve read so far deserve an A in my opinion. Thank you Mark for connecting with your fans and inventing a world that far surpasses anything I’ve read before, you rock!

10 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Hi Beth, You could probably add up all my years of schooling and I’d never get that many A’s! Thank you I will take them kindly!

9 06 2012
Aleks Jimenez

I’m entering! Aleks Jimenez, shadowkaitou@hotmail.com

10 06 2012
-Paul 'Half-orc' Harpham

Im entering the giveaway, I’d want to be hold up with Mark Tufo and Henry (his dog) because we could at least talk about starwars and argue which is the best astromech until its time to come out and start bashing heads.

10 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Paul there’s no argument R2-D2 is the first and the best (BUT all the others are a close second) and Jar Jar Binks still deserves to die.

10 06 2012
Ernie Hembree

I am entering the giveaway.

If held up in a secure bunker for the Zombie Apocalypse, I would most likely have all by bases coveted. So, I would have Paris Hilton in there with me. That’s right, her fine ass wrote a book (heh… made a movie too) and I need something nice to look at. I hope she has laryngitis the whole time.

pureninjafunk@gmail.com

10 06 2012
Gregg Brown

I can’t help wondering why Mike never looked in the pawn shop for weapons. They usually have a heaver weapons then a National Guard Armory, but are easier to spot between the chicken joint and the check cashing place.(

10 06 2012
Mark Tufo

Mike never even thought of it Gregg! (neither did I)

10 06 2012
donna oshields

entering contest. mark tufo books of course, especially when the new one comes out! i read alot so i want alot of books!!! i read all kinds but love zombies ones. doshields@neo.rr.com. ohio loves mark tufo books

Leave a Reply

