Armchair BEA 2012: Introductions

3 06 2012

I have to admit, I was a bit hesitant to do Armchair BEA this year. I like meeting new bloggers, following what’s going on and getting the skinny on the latest book buzz in the industry. Yet, what I don’t like doing is talking about myself. I like talking about books, about what I was thinking about when reading books, how books have influenced my life and things like that, but blatantly promoting myself isn’t something I enjoy doing.

I was sort of sad when the BEA team changed the interview format. Last year, I had the opportunity to meet a great fellow blogger during the interview period, and despite having different taste in books, we hit it off pretty well.  It helped that we both are audiobook enthusiasts. The cool thing was that since we both had very different audiences, so we had the added benefit of exposure to a new market. Plus, I love answering questions posed by others specifically tailored to me and trying to think of new, twisted questions to ask someone. Yet, I won’t be a spoiled sport, and will try to do this interview thing.

What really made me decide to do Armchair BEA is that June is Audiobook Month, and BEA is a great platform to promote audiobooks. If this is your first time here, this blog is dedicated to audiobooks. I review 3-5 audiobooks a week, mostly in the Science Fiction, Fantasy, Mystery and Thriller genres. If you are someone who instantly writes of audiobooks, I hope you will stick with me this week and give me a chance to open your mind to this medium. If you are already an audiobook fan, Welcome! We should have some fun this week.

My Answers to the Interview Questions:

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

My name is Bob, I’m a bit of an oddity in the Book Blogger world, being a 30 something male audiobook blogger. I have been blogging for over a decade, but I have only been actively blogging about audiobooks on this blog for about a year and a half. My first blog was commentary on TV, particularly the Shows Survivor and The Amazing Race, and mostly contained columns I wrote for other online sources. I began blogging about books 5 years ago, but after a career change, which also resulted in my move to audiobooks as my primary source of fiction, I put blogging on hold.

The reason I started this blog was that there really wasn’t a wealth of available Audiobook reviews in the genres that I loved. Plus, I love books, and love writing about books.

What is your favorite feature on your blog (i.e. author interviews, memes, something specific to your blog)?

I have a weekly feature called Welcome to the Apocalypse that appears each Friday on my blog (unless there is another event happening.) This feature highlights my love of Apocalyptic Fiction, with reviews, interviews and monthly lists featuring my favorite Post Apocalyptic books in particular categories, like Post Nuclear and Alien Invasion.

Also, this year, along with other bloggers and organized by The Literate Housewife, I participated in The Armchair Audies, were bloggers listened to all the nominees in a category for The Audio Publishers Audie Awards, and then made their predictions. My contributions were in the Science Fiction, Fantasy and Paranormal Categories, and this event was one of my most rewarding blogging experiences.

Which is your favorite post that you have written that you want everyone to read?

I have to admit, my favorite post I have written is my review of Adam Mansbach’s Go The F*ck to Sleep. It really was a joke review, and some people I guess didn’t get that. My other post I would highlight is My Top 10 Adult Dystopian Novels. Dystopian Fiction has taken the Young Adult world by storm, and I felt, as part of my Welcome to the Apocalypse Feature, it would be interesting to highlight some of the classic examples of the genre.

If you could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why?

Most of my favorite literary characters would not make good dinner guests. I would love to invite Jack Reacher to dinner, but I am sure the conversation would be full of long, awkward silences. I’d love to sit down with Joe Ledger from Jonathan Maberry’s Department of Military Sciences Series and have a beer, but more likely than not we would be attacked by terrorists, zombies or genetically engineered monsters.

Authors are a bit easier. I’d love to have dinner with Eloise J. Knapp because she is gorgeous, brilliant and loves zombies. I think beers with Chuck Wendig would be a blast, in a twisted sort of way. There are a lot of brilliant new authors like Myke Cole, Saladin Ahmed and TC McCarthy who have this approachable vibe on Twitter that I think it would be fun interacting with them in real life.

Yet, in the end, I think I would most enjoy playing Scrabble with Einstein, the intelligent Golden Retriever for Dean Koontz’ Watchers.

Have your reading tastes changed since you started blogging? How?

The one thing about the blogging community is they are constantly pushing me to expand my reading horizons. I have experienced a lot of books I probably never would have if it wasn’t for reviews and recommendations of fellow bloggers. This is the beauty of book blogging, the community. If you are simply writing reviews and posting them on your blog without interaction with other bloggers, you are doing it wrong. If you are only interacting with blogger who review books in your specific favorite formats or genres you are doing it wrong.

Don’t do it wrong.

If you only discover one new book through your interactions with other bloggers, you have discovered a new book. That is doing it right.

What To Expect From Me This Week.

1. Audiobook Reviews: I will have a review each day this week. Some titles you should expect, a release day review of Zombie by debut author J, R. Angella,  the latest entry in Christopher Farnsworth’s Nathaniel Cade series titled Red, White and Blood and the newest from John Scalzi.

2. Daily posts. I don’t consider myself an expert blogger, so don’t expect much sage advice from me. You will find a lot of talk on audiobooks, with recommendations.

3. Special Guest Post. I will have a very special guest post and audiobook giveaway. If you are a fan of Zombie Fiction, you’ll want to check it out.

I will be attempting to visit as many blogs as I can. look forward to meeting you all.

If you are interested, and want to interact, you can follow me on twitter @guildedearlobe, or like my Facebook page.

Look for my review of Invincible, the latest Lost Fleet novel by Jack Campbell today.

Note: The Banner Image Used Above was Created by Nina of Nina Reads.

Actions

Information

22 responses

4 06 2012
Natalie @ Mindful Musings

Hi Bob! I’ve just recently started adding more audiobooks into my reading schedule, mainly because they allow me to do other things while “reading” at the same time! Also, like you mentioned, while you might feel a little atypical in the book blogosphere, we can always use more diversity in the mix!

Hope you enjoy the rest of Armchair BEA!

4 06 2012
Ryan

How could you not love to play a game with Einstein, as much as I love Scrabble I think he would beat the crap out of me.

4 06 2012
Maidenveil

Hi, Bob! Wow! I love the title of your feature, Welcome to the Apocalypse. Not short on the interesting aspect there. I love reading dystopian-set books as well. I think with the release of Hunger Games, more people became aware of the genre though books like that have been around.

It’s my first time to come across a blog for listening to audiobooks! Nice!

4 06 2012
Laura

Haha, your review of Go the F-k to Sleep is amazing! I’m definitely going to be checking out your reviews and things throughout this week, because I just recently listened to my first EVER audiobook, and, you know, that’s just not cool.

4 06 2012
chrisbookarama

I have a problem with talking about myself too. I hate filling out Bios for things. I never know what to say.

I’ve been an audiobook fan for a couple of years now and my book reviews are becoming more audio than other.

4 06 2012
Sarah Says Read

I love that you highlight Apocalyptic Fiction so much! It’s one of the funnest topics out there.

Happy ABEA!

4 06 2012
Jae

I’m glad I found your blog! I want to check out your list of dystopian books! I don’t listen to many audiobooks but just last month I listened to two, so maybe I’m changing my perspective on them. Also, I love finding guys who have book blogs. The community is made up mostly of women so it’s always nice to get a different perspective and some new books to read that some women might not pick up.

4 06 2012
Mickey @ imabookshark

Awww Bob, we had so much fun last year! Maybe we should just interview each other every year during Armchair BEA to make it easier on us, huh? 😉 I can’t believe it’s been a year since we did that. Man, it flies. But your blog is awesome. YAY audio books!!

Mickey @ imabookshark

4 06 2012
Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)N

Oh yeah, Jack Reacher…;) I am in awe (jealous) of how many audiobooks you are able to listen to each week. Bloggers are the main reason I gave dystopian novels a try and have come to love them!

4 06 2012
Debz

I love that you focus on audiobooks! I love audiobooks, and I wish I listened to them more often! I’m looking forward to getting to know you through this next week!

4 06 2012
Amanda

Hi, Nice to meet you!! I really need to get into audiobooks!

http://lovesbooksreviews.blogspot.com/2012/06/armchair-bea-about-me.html

4 06 2012
Vikki

Hi – Great interview, I must check out your dystopian books post. Love that you focus on apocalyptic fiction too!

4 06 2012
Ashley

Hi Bob 🙂 It’s really interesting that you’re an audiobook blogger! I have to confess that I’ve never listened to an audiobook before. Maybe I should try it out 🙂

4 06 2012
StuckInBooks

Audiobooks, huh? Love them but only if the narrator is good. Interesting that you specialize in that. Nice to meet you.

Thanks for participating!

Here’s my intro

Valerie
StuckInBooks

4 06 2012
helgagrace

I love audiobooks, and I’m glad to have found you through Armchair BEA. If it does nothing else for me, at least it’s done that!

4 06 2012
Stephanie @Little Red Reads

It’s so great to meet you!!
Hope you have a great Armchair BEA week!
Here’s my post: http://little-red-reads.blogspot.com/2012/06/armchair-bea-introductions.html

xo Stephanie

4 06 2012
suecccp

Hi There!

Go The F*ck To Sleep is such a great book! 😀

4 06 2012
Christie

You kave been my go-to reviewer since I started listening to audio books a year ago. I love the genres you cover and I always know exactly what I’m getting when I choose a recommended title.

4 06 2012
Heather

I think it’s great that you blog about audiobooks–they are something that I’ve never gotten into as much as tree-books, but I’ve listened to a few. The Dark Tower series on audiobook as fantastic, as was Harry Potter. It’s nice to meet you, and I hope you have a great week!

4 06 2012
Michael @ Literary Exploration

great to see another male book blogger, and audiobook reviews are a great idea.

4 06 2012
Chrystal @ Snowdrop Dreams of Books

Hi Bob. Nice to meet you. I will be checking back to see your review of that zombie audiobook… I love a good zombie book and audiobooks are perfect for traveling… so hoping to see what book it was and what you thought so I can perhaps pick it up for my next trip. 🙂

5 06 2012
Man of la Book

Hey Bob, audiobooks reviews are a great idea especially since in many parts of the country the commutes get loner. Let me reiterate that it’s great to meet another male book blogger.

http://www.ManOfLaBook.com

Leave a Reply

