The 2012 Audie Finalists

20 02 2012

The Audio Publishers Association has just posted their finalists for the 2012 Audies, which honors the best of the Audiobook Industry.

You can find the complete list of nominations at this here: http://www.audiopub.org/press/2012%20Audies%20Finalists%20press%20release.pdf

You can find a nice breakdown of Speculative Fiction titles that have been nominated at the Audible SF/F site.

 

I don’t have much commentary about the nominations in genreral. There were a few titles that were not included that I was surprised about, but with over 1,250 titles considered, that is not a surprise. I personally only listened to around 185 titles last year, so it’s tough for any one person to judge. Here is a list of some of the titles nominated that I did listen to and review. 

 

Humor:

Go The F___ to Seep by Adam Mansbach

Read by Samuel Jackson

Audible, Inc.

My Review

Paranormal:

The Cypress House by Michael Koryta

Read by Robert Petkoff

Hachette Audio

My Review

First grave on the Right by Darynda Jones

Read by Lorelei King (also Nominated for Solo Female Narration)

Macmillan Audio

My Review

Monster Hunter International by Larry Correia

Read by Oliver Wyman

Audible Frontiers

My Review

Science Fiction:

Agent to the Stars by John Scalzi

Read by Wil Wheaton

Audible Frontiers

While I don’t have a full review, Agent to the Stars was my #5 Audiobook in my Best of 2010 List, with a mini write up.

Fussy Nation by John Scalzi

Read by Wil Wheaton

Audible Frontiers

My Review

The Tears of the Sun by SM Stirling

Read by Tom McLaren

Tantor Audio

My Review

Solo Female Narration:

Katherine Kellgren

Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick

Brilliance Audio

My Review

Thriller/Suspense:

Adrenaline by Jeff Abbott

Read by Kevin T. Collins

Hachette Audio

My Review

The Bone House by Brian Freeman

Read by Joe Barrett

Blackstone Audio

My Review

 

There are definitely a few titles I want to listen to before the June Awards ceremony, particularly in the Science Fiction and Fantasy categories. I will make sure to indicate the titles that are Audie Nominees in future reviews.

Actions

Information

One response

20 02 2012
Tanya/ dog eared copy

[SNort] I’ve only listened to two nominees and *neither* was produced by the company I work for! I guess I better get a move on and queue up at least “We’re Alive, Season 1” (by KC Waylan; narrated by a full cast) for zombie month and “Rumo: And His Miracualous Adventures” (by Walter Moers; narrated by Bronson Pinchot) sometime soon. Oddly, I also happen to have “Loretta Lynn: Coal Miner’s Daughter” (by Loretta Lynn; narrated by Sissy Spacek in my audio library. I must have dnloaded it for a challenge last year!

Leave a Reply

