Welcome to the Apocalypse: My Favorite Post Apocalyptic Audiobooks of 2011: Non-Zombie

6 01 2012

Welcome to my first “Welcome to the Apocalypse” Feature of 2012.

 

Today, we have a two-fer. First be sure to check out my review of the Zombie Apocalypse audiobook, The Becoming by Jessica Meigs. Secondly, I will be presenting you with my favorite Post Apocalyptic Audiobooks that I listened to in 2011. These will be non-Zombie Apocalypse, I am planning a future segment for Zombie Apocalypse novels of 2011 . I think that 2011 was an OK year for the Apocalyptic novel, mostly due to the Zombie subgenre. It was harder to find a decent Post Apocalyptic tale that didn’t involve the cannibalistic hordes. Yet, here were my faves:

Swan Song by Robert McCammon

Audible Frontiers

My Review

Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse

by Victor Gischler

Recorded Books

The Leftovers by To Perrotta

MacMillan Audio

My Review

Soft Apocalypse by Wil McIntosh

Audible Frontiers

My Review

Afterlight by Alex Scarrow

ISIS Audio

My Review

The Postmortal by Drew Magary

Tantor Audio

My Review

The Eleventh Plague by Jeff Hirsch

Scholastic Audio

My Review

March In Country (Vampire Earth, Book 9) by EE Knight

Audible Frontiers

My Review

Darkness Falling by Peter Crowther

Angry Robot on Brilliance Audio

My Review

Actions

Information

5 responses

6 01 2012
teresasreading

I’ll have to look into a few of these. Get outside my comfort zone a little bit!

7 01 2012
Carl V.

I’ve seen Soft Apocalypse on some other “best of” reads of the year. Which means that it is creeping up on my radar.

Was excited to go to the library today and find the audio for Ready Player One waiting for me.

8 01 2012
Audiobooks for the Non-zombie post apocalyptic books | Apocalyptic Thoughts

[…] Welcome to the Apocalypse: My Favorite Post Apocalyptic Audiobooks of 2011: Non-Zombie « The Guilde…. Share […]

10 01 2012
Leslie

Of this list I’ve only read The Postmortal, but I imagine that made a fantastic audiobook. I’ll have to keep an eye out on your other favorites. I’ve heard great things about The Leftovers and The Eleventh Plague.

31 12 2013
Audiobooks for the Non-zombie post apocalyptic books » Apocalyptic Thoughts | Apocalyptic Thoughts

[…] via Welcome to the Apocalypse: My Favorite Post Apocalyptic Audiobooks of 2011: Non-Zombie « The Guilde…. […]

Leave a Reply

