Audiobook Week Day 3: Meme

8 06 2011

Jen from Devourer of Books posted this meme for Audiobook week.

Current/most recent audiobook:  I am currently listening to The Bone House by Brian Freeman, narrated by Joe Barrett from Blackstone Audio.

 

Impressions: The story really grabs you from the beginning. This is Freeman’s first standalone, and I’m enjoying it. Joe Barrett is a good narrator, although I have mixed feelings with him. He has an old sounding voice, and when he voices younger people, especially younger women, it has that grating, almost transsexual feeling to it.

Current favorite audiobook: Since posting my 2011 list, the audiobook that most sticks out is The Ridge by Michael Koryta. (My Review) He is fast becoming one of my favorite authors.

One narrator who always makes you choose audio over print: Well, there is Oliver Wyman, who I interviewed earlier this week. I also need to give a shout out to Phil Gigante, who narrates three of my favorite series, Joe Lansdale’s Hap and Leonard series, Andrew Vachss’ Burke series, and Harrison’s The Stainless Steel Rat series, and does so brilliantly.

Genre you most often choose to listen to: I listen mostly to sci-fi, fantasy, and horror novels, as well as modern detective thrillers, and thrillers in general. For thrillers, I love finding an author with a huge backlist on audio and listening to the whole series. Examples would be Lee Child’s Jack Reacher series, Stephen White’s Alan Gregory series and John Connolly’s Charlie Parker series.

If given the choice, you will always choose audio when: If I can find it on audio, with a narrator I do not hate, I tend to listen to the audio.

If given the choice, you will always choose print when: I like the feel of old paperbacks, especially science fiction, with the crazy covers and rough paper. I collect old campy sci-fi novels, and when I have time to read, that’s what I read. I have been working through Emergence by David Palmer, which is tale about a girl who gets stuck in a bunker alone during a nuclear exchange, and it is written is a sort of shorthand.

Today for Audiobook week.

Jennifer from Literate Housewife Interviews me. Don’t worry, no spoilers from my upcoming memoirs, “Oops, I Spilled my Beer.”

My review of Soft Apocalypse by Wil McIntosh from Audible Frontiers

I will be spending most of my day hanging out with Jimmy, a young man whom I worked with for 10 years. Today is his birthday. I will try and catch up later.

Actions

Information

5 responses

8 06 2011
Mickey@imabookshark

Yeah Phil Gigante!

Going to check out the interview on Jennifer’s blog. Nice post 🙂

Here’s my audio book week post!

Mickey

8 06 2011
Jen - Devourer of Books

I adore the combination of Michael Kortya and Robert Petkoff, I’ll be getting to The Ridge sooner rather than later.

8 06 2011
Nise'

I have been reading the Jack Reacher series from the beginning, but have not listened yet. Maybe with the next installment.

9 06 2011
Erotic Horizon

The Bone House sound all kinda awesome…

I agree with your last answer – While I have listen to a few fantasy on audio -I just feel this fantasy must be read in print – a nice chunky book to curl into a corner with..

🙂

11 06 2011
happyjoel

Hiya! In honor of Audiobook week, the APA is holding a video contest and I’m one of 10 finalists! The winner is being determined by youtube “views” and “likes” and I would love it if you could give my video a view and a “thumbs up!”

If you were feeling REALLY kind (and wanted to do another post for Audiobook week!) you could even do a post and feature the video? Or maybe link to it?

Either way, thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

