My 10 Favorite Audiobooks of 2011 (So Far)

24 05 2011

2011 has been a great year for Audiobooks. With the endings of some great trilogies, a highly anticipated Fantasy sequel, and a bunch of surprises, it was hard to compile a top 10 list. I have to say that this list is truly a favorites list, the 70+ audiobooks I have listen to this year is just a tiny percentage of the great offerings out there. That being said, I think you would enjoy my selections.

#10:

WWW: Wonder by Robert J. Sawyer

Read by Jessica Almasy, Oliver Wyman, Marc Vietor, Anthony Haden

Audible Frontiers

Why it made the list: This satisfying ending to Sawyer’s WWW series is most remarkable in the performance of the main narrator Jessica Almasy.

#9

Monster Hunter Vendetta by Larry Coreia

Read by Oliver Wyman

Audible Frontiers

Why it made the list: Fans of guns, monsters, guns, romance, guns, action and guns will enjoy this second entry in the Monster Hunter’s Series. Worth the price just to hear Oliver Wyman voice a shoggoth.

#8

The Cypress House by Micheal Koryta

Read by Robert Petkoff

Hachette Audio

Why it made the list: Robert Petkoff is brilliant in his reading of this atmospheric supernatural thriller.

#7

The President’s Vampire by Christopher Farnsworth

Read by Bronson Pinchot

Blackstone Audio

Why it made the list: Bronson Pinchot’s voice fits this novel perfectly, giving voice to Farnsworth’s excellent characters, as well as his historic overview, and strong action sequences.

#6.

Deadline by Mira Grant

Read by Chris Patton and Nell Geisslinger

Hachette Audio

Why it made the list: This follow up to the Hugo/Audie nominated Feed gives us new perspectives on old characters, and continues to develop Grant’s terrifying world.

#5

The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

Read by Nick Podehl

Brilliance Audio

Why it made the list: The Wait was worth it, Rothfuss continues the story of Kvothe with excellent results. Podehl is excellent in handling a novel full of songs, poetry, folklore and hand sighs. Not an easy task.

#4.

Fuzzy Nation by John Scalzi

Read by Wil Wheaton

Audible Frontiers

Why it made the list: Fuzzy Nation, John Scalzi’s reimagining of H. Beam Piper’s Little Fuzzy is the perfect summer read, full of adventure and intrigue. Wil Wheaton continues to impress as a narrator.

#3

The Fifth Witness by Michael Connelly

Read by Peter Giles

Hachette Audio

Why it made the list: The best courtroom thriller since Scot Turow’s Presumed Innocent. Mickey Haller is a great character, and Peter Giles does an excellent job voicing him.

#2

Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

Read by Kevin Kenerly

Blackstone Audio

Why it made the list: Isaac Marion does for Zombies what Cormac McCarthy does for Post Apocalypse. Warm Bodies transcends to Zombie genre creating a novel that should have mass appeal. Kevin Kenerly’s reading breathes life into the undead.

#1

I Don’t Want to Kill You by Dan Wells

Read by Kirby Heyborne

Tantor Audio

Why it Tops the List: The end of the John Cleaver series was one of the most satisfying, yet devastating endings I have experienced in an audio book. Kirby Heyborne’s narration only added to the experience of the best audiobook of the year (so far.)

Actions

Information

12 responses

24 05 2011
Teddyree

I love audiobooks but have listened to far less this year after getting a kindle. Thanks for reminding me why I need to get back into them. Thanks for the awesome list, many of these are going on my tbr pile or wishlist!

24 05 2011
AlisonCanRead

Warm Bodies was an interesting book. I really want to read The President’s Vampire.

24 05 2011
Lena

I like your twist on your blog, audio books. That’s different and unique, haven’t come across another blog like it. “I Don’t Want to Kill You” seems very fascinating. Hope you have a great time during BEA week. I am enjoying myself. Hope to stay connected. Now I have a new blog to add to my follow list. This blog is wonderful.

24 05 2011
Chrisbookarama

I’ve listened to some great audio books this year too: The Paris Wife and A Red Herring Without Mustard. I really enjoy listening while I do stuff around the house.

24 05 2011
Pussreboots

I have most of those on my wishlist. In 2009 I decided to step away reviewing for publishers and publicists. I felt like I was losing my focus and drifting from my mission statement of sharing the joys of reading. Call it taking a librarian’s approach to blogging. Come see what I mean.

24 05 2011
Carol

I listen to audibooks, but have yet to hit the one that makes me say “I’m so glad I listened to this one rather than reading it.” I’m sure it’ll happen soon, though.

24 05 2011
RobynBookReviews

A few of these have caught my curiosity. I will have to try to get my hands on them, although probably in print instead of audio 🙂

24 05 2011
E.J. Stevens

I’m always curious about audiobooks, especially for something to listen to while traveling, but often hesitate to order since the voice actors can make or break a book for me. Thanks for the list!
xx,
E.J.
Paranormal Author E.J. Stevens
From the Shadows

24 05 2011
Nise'

Oh goody, more audios to be on the lookout for. I’ve enjoyed Fallen by Lauren Kate read by Justine Eyre, Darkfever by Karen Moning read by Joyce Bean, and Tonight I Said Goodbye by Michael Koryta read by Scott Brick.

Please stop by and enter my giveaway.

25 05 2011
thereadingdate

I’ve started listening to more audiobooks lately but it’s hard to find the good ones. Glad to find your list to help me make some good audio choices! Deadline looks great, but I will have to read Feed first.
I have the book Warm Bodies and it sounds great!

I’m a new follower – looking forward to reading more of your audio reviews!

6 06 2011
Audiobook Week: Day One :Your Audiobook Year « The Guilded Earlobe

[…] Top 10 Audiobooks of 2011 (so Far) […]

7 02 2012
justisnme

Nothing beats the narrator for The Dome by Stephen King, The man is masterful

Leave a Reply

