Armchair BEA Post #1: Who is this Guilded Earlobe Guy Anyway?

23 05 2011

Hello Book Enthusiasts, or people who happened to stumble upon this site. My name is Bob, and I like Books.

This is my first year participation in the Armchair BEA, partly because this is the first year that I have been actively book blogging since 2007, when I posted reviews on my previous blog, Thistles for Breakfast. A lot of things have changes since 2007 for me, specifically my job. Back in the day, I had a job that allowed me to read for a good portion of it. I was able to read 2-3 books a week. Yet, a change in job brought a new twist. I was no longer able to read, yet, I could still listed. That opened the door to my new passion, audiobooks.

The Guilded Earlobe is blog specializing in spoiler free Audiobook reviews. I started actively posting reviews to this site in January of this year, and have posted nearly 70 reviews. Check the Archive section for a full list.

This past few weeks I have been running a Zombie Theme to celebrate the collaboration between Audible Frontiers and Permuted Press. So far, it’s featured 8 Zombie Audiobook reviews, and a interview with Hugo/Audie Nominated author Mira Grant. This week, expect more Zombie related fun, with reviews of Travis Adkins and Cherie Priest zombie themed novels, as well as some special interviews. Also, Tuesday, I will be posting my top 10 Audiobooks of 2011, so far.

Genres I Review

Science Fiction

Fantasy

Horror

Mystery/Thrillers

Sub Genres I Particularly Like

Post Apocalyptic

Zombie Fiction

Military Science Fiction

Court Room Thrillers

Florida Satires

My Contact Information:

email: theguildedearlobe@verizon.net

Twitter: @guildedearlobe

Goodreads Link: http://www.goodreads.com/friend/i?i=LTM2MDIzOTg5NjQ6MzY3

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1641217995

Actions

Information

6 responses

23 05 2011
Mickey

Hi there! I have a job that allows me to listen to books, so I get through 2-4 books a week that way :o) I replied to your interview request on Twitter, so let me know if you’re still up for that! Find me @imabookshark. Thanks!

23 05 2011
Paula Krapf

I’ve just started with audio books, listening on my Kindle, and I really enjoy it. I think it’s great that you’re still able to review by listening audio books!

23 05 2011
Amy @ My Friend Amy

I used to have a job that let me read as well and when that changed so much changed for me. I’m glad you’ve found such a great compromise! Thanks for participating in Armchair BEA!

23 05 2011
Susan (Bloggin' 'bout Books)

Audio books, huh? Interesting. I never listen to them since I’m rarely in the car and, since I have 4 kids, I can’t have anything plugging up my ears while I’m at home. Maybe you’ll make a believer out of me, though, huh?

Glad to have found you via Armchair BEA!

23 05 2011
theguildedearlobe

One of my tricks, especially at work and since audiobooks are typically not in stereo is to listen with one earbud in, so that I can still hear what is going on around me.

24 05 2011
The1stdaughter (Danielle)

Oh! Love that you review so much audio! I’ve recently started getting into it much more and I absolutely love it! My favorite narrator is Nick Podehl, by a long shot. His narration of The Chaos Walking trilogy was brilliant! I can’t wait to see more of your recommendations!

On behalf of the Armchair BEA organizers thanks so much for participating! We really are so happy to have you!

Leave a Reply

