Audiobook Review: The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

21 02 2011

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

Read by Nick Podehl

Brilliance Audio

Genre: Fantasy

Quick Thoughts: One of my favorite Fantasy Novels of all times holds up well in its audio version.

Grade: A

 

So, for the second time since I started listening to audiobooks, I decided to listen to a book I had already read. The first book I did that with was World War Z by Max Brooks, because I had heard the audiobook was excellent. Well, this time, in preparation for the release of Wise Man’s Fear, I decided it may be a good idea to go back and listen to its prequel, The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss.  If interested, here is my review of the novel after I first read it. It was an interesting experience listening to a novel I had already read. One of the things I always consider when listening to a book is how much a narrator may influence the overall perception of the book. It’s pretty obvious that a bad narrator can ruin even a good book, but I also feel a truly extraordinary narrator can enhance a book,

This was my first experience with Nick Podehl as a narrator. I think he had a tough job. One of the hardest things I think narrators have to do is reading for children. Kvothe, the main character of the novel, ranges from the age of 12 to 16. I think Podehl made the right choice of reading Kvothe with his natural voice, instead of trying to “kid it up.” At points it was a bit distracting, having Kvothe sounding more adult than he was, but Podehl’s voice has a nice tone to it, that was able to overcame that difficulty. All together, I thing Podehl did a fine job with the reading. While I don’t think he added much to the overall experience, he handled it with an appropriate style that let the natural excellence of the novel shine through.

Listening to The Name of the Wind reminded me why I love this novel. Fantasy is very much hit and miss with me. The Name of the Wind is easily one of the most accessible fantasy novels I have ever read. Fans of everyone from JK Rowling to George RR Martin will find something to love in this novel. Fans of Orson Scott Card will love the characters as much as fans of Stephen R. Donaldson will enjoy the world building. It’s a rare novel that can appeal to so many differing fantasy fans, but Rothfuss pulls it off. Luckily for us fans, the wait for Wise Man’s Fear is almost over.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 03 2011
14 04 2014
Alexandra

I loooved Nick Podehl’s narration! He did an excellent job.

Leave a Reply

