2012 Armchair Audies Announcement Post

8 03 2012

 

Recently, the Audio Publisher’s Association released it’s nominees for the 2012 Audie Awards recognizing the best in Audiobooks for the 2011 year. On June 5th, 2012 the 2012 Audie Gala will be a star studded event taking place at the in New York City hosted my Actor/Comedian Michael Showater. This event will bring together the best, brightest and most fashionable of the Audiobook Industry in a lavish night of self congratulatory glory.

The Guilded Earlobe will not be there.

Nope. I’ll be at home, relaxing, playing with my dog, maybe typing a review of some obscure scifi title while drinking a cold Yuengling after a long day at work. Yet, in the traditions of The Armchair BEA, I along with a few other audiobook bloggers, including the wonderful Jennifer from The Literate Housewife will be taking part in our own Armchair Audies. Since there are nearly 30 Categories, there is no way anyone could realistic listen to all those audiobooks, and really, who would want to. So instead, different bloggers will be focusing on different categories, attempting to listen to all the nominees, and offer analysis of those titles.

Over the next two months, I will be listening to the nominees in the Science Fiction, Fantasy and Paranormal categories, and reviewing them here.  When I review a title that is an Audie Nominee you will find this image:

APA-2012nomineesbut

Here is what I will be evaluating over the next two months or so. Note, some of these Titles have already been reviewed here, so click on the title to take you to the review.

Science Fiction:

Agent to the Stars by John Scalzi narrated by Wil Wheaton

Fuzzy Nation by John Scalzi narrated by Wil Wheaton

Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. Corey, narrated by Jefferson Mays

Solaris by Stanislaw Lem, narrated by Alessandro Juliani

The Cold Commands by Richard K. Morgan narrated by Simon Vance

The Tears of the Sun by SM Stirling, narrated by Todd McLaren

Fantasy:

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, narrated by Khristine Hvam

Land of Laughs by Jonathan Carroll, narrated by Edoardo Ballerini

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies: Dreadfully Ever After by Steve Hockensmith, narrated by Katherine Kellgren

Rumo & His Miraculous Adventures by Walter Moers, narrated by Bronson Pinchot

The Automatic Detective by A. Lee Martinez, narrated by Marc Vietor

Paranormal:

Dragon Bound by Thea Harrison, narrated by Sophie Eastlake

First Grave on the Right by Darynda Jones, narrated by Lorelei King

Hard Magic by Larry Correia, narrated by Bronson Pinchot

Monster Hunter International by Larry Correia, narrated by Oliver Wyman

THE CYPRESS HOUSE by Michael Koryta, narrated by Robert Petkoff

 

So, if you are counting, that would be a total of 16 titles. Now, being that I listened to and reviewed 6 of these titles already it makes it a more manageable 10 titles.  Feel free to join in the fun. Tackle your own category, or just review a nominated title. Follow us on twitter with the Hashtag #armchairaudies.

Stop by The Literate Housewife’s Blog for more info and just all around good content.

Actions

Information

5 responses

8 03 2012
Literate Housewife

So glad to have you on this journey with me! Since I’ll actually be in New York, I’m trying to figure out how I can get hired to cover the event. I may not be Ryan Seacrest, but I’m no Joan Rivers, either. Ha!

I like the idea of including the image you have. I think I’ll copy you a little there. :)

This is going to be fun!

8 03 2012
Cassandra

Wonderful idea! I am going to have to join you guys on this one. I’m going to look over the categories and figure out what I can cover. I’ll post soon!

9 03 2012
Announcing The Armchair Audies - Indie Reader Houston » Indie Reader Houston

[...] 9, 2012 I have come to accept that Jennifer (Literate Housewife), Bob (The Guilded Earlobe), and Tanya (Dog Eared Copy)  are bad influences on me.  And I’m [...]

13 03 2012
Squeak (@AkChocoholic)

I am going to join you in the Armchair Audies. I am picking up the Thriller – suspense category. This will be great fun!

Dorothy – The Alaskan Bookie
Blog ~ http://alaskanbookie.blogspot.com/

22 02 2013
Armchair Audies 2013 « The Sleepless Reader

[...] 2013 was the first edition of The Armchair Audies, organized by the Literary Housewife and the Guilded Earlobe. The idea is that bloggers choose at least one category of the Audies Awards, listen to all the [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,502 other followers

